PRACTISING SCHOOL

Scope and Content

The Practising School was completed in 1853, but after the completion of the main range of College buildings. Given Culham's relatively isolated position, the Practising School was essential to the College's work as it provided a venue for students to experience teaching in a genuine classroom. The school was originally mixed, but within a few years pressure of attendance numbers, which peaked at around 170, meant that only boys were educated there. A reorganisation of 1856 limited the number of schoolchildren to around 60. The School continued until 1931, when the pupils were transferred to Dorchester. The building was subsequently converted into a library and then a centre for handicrafts.

(Naylor, L. and Howat, G., Culham College History, 1982)