Scope and Content

The 12 Principals of the College between 1839 and 1979 were:

Rev. John Thorp (Principal at Summertown 1839-1852)

Rev. Arthur Rawson Ashwell (Culham 1853-1862)

Rev. James Ridgeway (1862-1873)

Rev. Henry Lewis (1873-1890)

Rev. W.S.F. Long (Vice-Principal 1886-1890, Principal 1890-1898)

Rev. A.R. Whitham (1898-1929)

W.E. Urwick (Acting Principal 1929-1930)

Rev. Alfred Guillame (1930-1945)

F.I. Venables (1946-1961)

J.V. Barnett (1961-1971)

J.F. Wyatt (1971-1977)

Stephen W. Denny (1977-1979)

The administrative papers of the Principal can be found in section O32/6/1 (Office of Principal). Personal papers of individual Principals are organised below this in separate categories. If there is not a category for a named Principal, this will indicate that no personal papers have survived.