New buildings or refurbishments of Castle End (1958), 14-20 Castle Street (1985-89) and Castle House (1982, 1989-1990).
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Colony comprises several houses or lodging houses, some of which were built by Clare and some were already in existence in the early twentieth century. Castlebrae was built by Agnes and Samuel Lewis in 1889 on land leased by the College and then it passed to Clare College in 1926 and was converted into lodgings. Braeside & Etheldreda were built later and led to the existence of "the Colony"; various refurbishments have taken place since with the most recent being conversion of Castle End to high quality accomodation 2008-2009