Rules 1889; Handbills and Notices 1916-c.1970; Bank Pass Book 1914-1916; Correspondence 1916; Order Forms and Bills 1908-c.1916
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNB/COL/18
- Dates of Creation1889- c.1970
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 envelope
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Pentremawr Colliery was sited at Pontyberem in the Gwendraeth Valley. It was composed of a series of slant mines opened by the Pentremawr Colliery Co. Ltd. which produced anthracite coal. The first 2 slants were driven in 1870 but were soon stopped when they reached a geological fault. Another 4 slants were completed soon afterwards and were given the names, Capel Ifan Nos. 1, 2, 3 and 4. This was followed by the Pumpquart No. 4 Slant in 1913. In 1926, the Colliery was absorbed into the United Anthracite Collieries Ltd. The following year, United Anthracite were themselves absorbed into the Amalgamated Anthracite Collieries Ltd.
On Nationalisation in 1947, Pentremawr Colliery was placed into the National Coal Board's South Western Division, No. 1 (Swansea) Area, No. 1 (Pentremawr) Group. The Pumpquart No. 4 Slant was closed in 1968. The rest of the Colliery was integrated with Cynheidre Colliery in March 1974. Cynheidre Colliery was closed in 1988.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), pp. 409-10
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.