Conveyance: One-third of an annuity of £100 payable from the revenues of the Skerries Lighthouse

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

1. John Morgan Lewis esquire and Anne, his wife.

2. John Bruer of the parish of Saint Dunstants, in the city of London, gent, and Josuah Savage of Camberwell, co. Surrey, gent.

CONVEYANCE of one-third of an annuity of £100 payable from the revenues of the Skerries Lighthouse.

Administrative / Biographical History

A conveyance is the legal process of transferring property from one owner to another.

The Skerries Lighthouse was first lit after 1716. A patent for the lighthouse was subsequently obtained in 1824. The builder was William Trench, who lost his son off the rocks and died in debt in 1725. He is said to have originally been allowed a pension from the Post Office, rather than payment from shipping tolls. An act of 1730 allowed his son-in-law, Sutton Morgan, to increase the dues charged for shipping and confirmed the patent on the light to Morgan’s heirs forever. It was rebuilt around 1759 for about £3,000. It was lit by a coal brazier on top of the tower. Morgan Jones, who was twice High Sheriff of Cardiganshire, inherited the lighthouse in 1778; he raised the top of the tower by 6.7 metres (22 ft) and built an iron balcony with railings enclosing the oil-burning lantern. The lantern was glazed all around with square panes and covered by a cupola. Trinity House took over operation of the lighthouse under an enabling act of 1836, but not without a fight from the original owners, who wanted to protect their investment from a low takeover price.

Conditions Governing Access

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

The British Records Association (BRA) is a charity which aims to promote the preservation, understanding, accessibility and study of our recorded heritage for the public benefit. Since the founding of the Association in 1932, its Records Preservation Section has played a major role in saving records at risk, and organising their distribution to local record offices. This item was transferred to Gwynedd Record Office now Anglesey Archives from The BRA.

Note

Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da /Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Helen Lewis for Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.

Accruals

Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected