Records of English Congregational Church, Bangor

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Comprises bound record books and loose material including: 

  • Historical account of the church by Reverend John Lewis, 1856
  • Baptism and burial registers
  • Correspondence relating to various matters including fundraising events
  • Committee minutes
  • Accounts, balance sheets, receipts and vouchers, cash and bank pass books
  • Roll of members, names and numbers
  • Photographs of ministers and officials
  • Obituary notices of Sir John Edward Lloyd (1861-1947) and Rev. H. Oliver Evans
  • Accounts of the Ladies Church Social (formerly Ladies Working Society), 1914-72
  • Miscellaneous printed items including annual reports

Administrative / Biographical History

The setting up of a Congregational church in Bangor to facilitate the needs of the English speakers was instigated by Daniel Williams of Garth and Robert Jones, a draper (who later moved to Wrexham). They felt there was a need for public worship in the English language, particularly with the influx of English speaking visitors during the summer months. On the 16th February 1845 provision for services and a Sunday school was made at the Rechabite Hall, in lower Bangor, which were well attended. Later, a chapel was built which officially opened in 1856. In April of that year Reverend John Lewis became minister followed by Reverend William Creed, who commenced his ministry in 1860. Reverend H. Oliver Evans (d. 1957) was the last minister of the English Congregational Church, Bangor. The final meeting of the church was held on 25 July 1964.

Arrangement

Material was received on separate occasions, arranged according to type, then chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Acquisition Information

Some material, items: 13832-13845 were deposited by Mrs Eluned Garmon Jones. Other material, items: 16979-17022, was deposited in April 1967, in accordance with a resolution passed at the final meeting of the church in 1964.

Note

Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, March 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 13832-13845, 16979-17022, 18319, 25406

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.