Scope and Content

Records of Trelawnyd parish, 1696-1974, including registers, 1696-1970; service registers, 1919-1974; records of charities, 1858-1971; tithe records, 1844-5; enclosure records, 1821-1828.

Administrative / Biographical History

The county of Flintshire falls within the Diocese of St Asaph and consists of over fifty ecclesiastical parishes, including Trelawnyd (Newmarket). The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes in Flintshire include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies. Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils. Trelawnyd was originally one of the ancient parishes of Flintshire. The name "Newmarket" dates back to 1700, in which year John Wynne obtained a faculty from the Bishop's Registry to change the name. John Wynne had already rebuilt most of the village, established several branches of industry, and set up a weekly market and an annual fair. The village (and parish) continued to be called Newmarket until 1954, when it was officially renamed as Trelawnyd.


Arranged into the following: Incumbent records; Charities; Tithe; Enclosure.

Access Information

Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of this catalogue is available at Flintshire Record Office.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Flintshire Record Office have been retained. Transferred to Denbighshire Record Office 02/07/2009.


Accruals are possible

Geographical Names