Scope and Content

Records of Buckley parish, 1822-1992, including registers, 1822-1992; preacher's books, 1885-1950; service registers, 1927-1972; churchwarden's records, 1845-1963; Parochial Church Council minutes, 1905-1970; records of church affairs, 1875-1949; school records, 1904-1962; and miscellaneous, 1822-1927.

Administrative / Biographical History

The county of Flintshire falls within the Diocese of St Asaph and consists of over fifty ecclesiastical parishes, including Buckley (also called Bwcle). The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes in Flintshire include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies. Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils.


Arranged in four groups: Group One, incumbent records, churchwardens, parochial church council, church affairs, church organisations, school; Group Two, churchwardens records; Group Three, incumbent records, churchwardens, Easter vestry, miscellaneous; and Group Four, incumbent records.

Access Information

Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of this catalogue is available at Flintshire Record Office.

Alternative Form Available

Microfilm copies of the parish registers are available at Flintshire Record Office, Denbighshire Record Office and the National Library of Wales. Registers are also available to search online.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Flintshire Record Office have been retained.


Accruals have since been received.

Geographical Names