Minutes of congregational meetings, managers and elders, 1826-1914 and 1917-1948; Kirk session minutes, 1883-1948; Communicants rolls, 1915-1956; Baptisms, 1914-1929; Seat rent book, 1854-1878 and 1949-1966; Cash book, 1883-1981; Church door collections, 1871-1923; Meeting house trustees, receipts for feu duty, 1883-1919; Property register, 1960-1972.
Records of Edenshead United Secession, Edenshead United Presbyterian Church, Edenshead United Free Church.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/1564
- Dates of Creation1826-1972
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.3 metres
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The congregation of Edenshead originated in 1825 when the district was chosen to be the seat of a new United Secession church, and the first minister of the charge, Robert Redpath, was ordained in 1828. In 1847, the United Secession Church united with the Relief Church to form the United Presbyterian Church, and Edenshead was therefore a congregation within that Church. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the congregation became Edenshead United Free Church and in 1912, Edenshead, which originally sat within the Presbytery of Dunfermline and Kinross, was transferred to the Presbytery of Cupar. In 1981, following the 1929 union of the United Free Church and the Church of Scotland, Edenshead was joined with the parish church of Strathmiglo, under the name of Edenshead and Strathmiglo. The united congregation presently sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews.
Sources: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904); John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.