Briton Ferry Iron Works records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

D/D BFIW 1/1-337. Mechanical and technical plans

D/D BFIW 2/1-21. Site plans

D/D BFIW 3/1-41. Other plans

D/D BFIW 4/1-7. Housing plans

D/D BFIW 5/1-9. Business and technical records

D/D BFIW 6/1-9. Personal documents and items

D/D BFIW 7/1-18. Correspondence

D/D BFIW 8/1-9. Books and published items

D/D BFIW 9/1-4. Press cuttings

D/D BFIW 10/1-4. Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

The Briton Ferry Iron Works was established in 1846 by Joel Lean, Joseph Davey and George Davey, and was based at a large site by the River Neath. The first mills were started in May 1847, and the first blast furnace built in 1854. Between 1866 and 1882, Messrs Townsend Wood and Company ran the Works with George Henry Davey (son of co-founder George Davey) as manager, until the company failed and the Works was closed down. George Henry Davey started the Works up again, but stopped in 1886. In 1889, a Limited Company was formed to take over the Works. The Briton Ferry Works Ltd. saw George Henry Davey as chairman, with M. G. Roberts, D. T. Sims and H. F. Taylor as directors. Robert Roberts was made the manager and secretary, and a large portion of the collection has come from him. George Henry Davey died in 1911, and in 1918 the company was bought by EP&W Baldwin Limited. In 1958, the Works were closed for good.

Arrangement

Arranged into series by document type.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.