Transcripts collected in the course of a report on archaeological excavations at the Hull Citadel by Martin Foreman and Steve Goodhand between 1989-1992 with further material collected by Audrey Howes.
Transcripts of material relating to Hull Citadel
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 50 U DX250
- Dates of Creation1660-1865
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 file
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
After Hull was taken by the rebels during the Pilgrimage of Grace in 1536 Henry VIII ordered the fortified walls to be improved and de la Pole's house converted into the town's citadel. The building works were completed by 1543 at a cost of £18,000 (the equivalent of £8m at todays prices) leaving Hull with three forts connected by a wall and the North Bridge constructed over the river Hull. In the mid 16th century control of the Castle and blockhouses was passed to the town. The north blockhouse was partially destroyed in September 1643 during the second siege of Hull. Heavy storms in 1670 undermined much of the south blockhouse. In 1680 fortifications of the castle and southern blockhouse were improved under Martin Beckman resulting in the creation of a triangular fort with governors house, barracks and magazine and this became known as the Hull Citadel. The structure was surrounded by a moat on the eastern and western sides. In 1716 it was recorded that there were 117 guns in the Citadel.
The northern blockhouse was outside of the new fort and was demolished in 1802. Military use ended by the mid nineteenth century with the last firing of the guns for the Prince of Wales's wedding on 12 March 1859. In 1864 the site was cleared to make way for Hull docks.
See Martin Foreman & Steve Goodhand 'The Construction of Hull Citadel' in Post-Medieval Archaeology - Volume: 30 - p143-185 and Audrey Howes & Martin Foreman Town and Gun published in 1999.
Conditions Governing Access
Access will be granted to any accredited reader
Donated by Martin Foreman, Humber Archaeology Partnership, Hull, 20 May 1997