Opening of the Borough Polytechnic Institute

Scope and Content

Plaque inscribed; ' THE BOROUGH POLYTECHNI INSTITUTE was opened by the Right Honourable THE EARL OF ROSEBERY, K.G. On the Thirtieth Day of September, 1892. Governors:

Edric Bayley, L.C.C. Chairman

Rowland Hamilton

The Reverend Arthur William Jephson, M.L.S.B.

Alfred Lafone

Edwin Lawrence

William George Lemon, L.C.C.

Sir Philip Magnus, Kt.

Thomas Buxton Morrish

Charles Joseph Whittuck Rabbits

Evan Spicer, L.C.C.

The Honourable Maude Stanley

Richard Strong, L.C.C.

Walter Augustus Wigram'

Administrative / Biographical History

Has remained in the Borough Road building entrance hall since 1892, but moved from its original location after renovations in 1930.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Rectangular bronze plaque