Sailing Bill: August and September Sailings of La Marguerite

Scope and Content

SAILING BILL: August and September Sailings of La Marguerite leaving Menai Bridge, Bangor, Beaumaris, Llandudno, Liverpool.


Administrative / Biographical History

La Marguerite was an excursion steamer measuring 330ft length overall and with a gross registered tonnage of 1,554. She had a passenger capacity of around 2,000. Built in 1894 by Fairfield on the Clyde for the Palace Steamers's services on the River Thames she was one of the very largest purely excursion paddle steamers ever built for service in the UK. Within ten years of her build the ship was deemed too large for the Thames and was sold to the Liverpool and North Wales Steamship Company as a people carrier for the peak sailings on their busy Liverpool, Llandudno and Menai Bridge route. La Marguerite was finally withdrawn after her last passenger sailing on 28th September 1925 and was scrapped at Briton Ferry.

Access Information

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Adnau preifat / Private deposit.


Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da / Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Helen Lewis for Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.


Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected