Burgh commissioners minutes, 1897-1901; Town council minutes, 1901-1968, 1971-1975; Committee minutes, 1974-1975; Miscellaneous statutory registers, 1904-1946; Police Court register, 1896-1975; Register of local bonds, 1921-1968; Valuation rolls, 1962-1975 (incomplete run); Dean of Guild Court: register of applications for minor warrants, 1933-1964; Abstracts of accounts, 1956-1974 and undated; Agreements relating to property and public services, 1897-1975.
Records of the burgh of Newport-on-Tay, Fife
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Newport is a small town in Fife on the Firth of Tay, its situation making it a popular summer holiday resport for many years. In 1822 it was made the ferry station from Fife to Dundee. In 1881 its population was 2,311. In 1887 Newport became a police burgh under the General Police and Improvement (Scotland) Act 1862 (25 and 26 Vict., c.101). Burgh administration was carried out by police commissioners who were responsible for the cleansing, lighting, policing and public health of the burgh. Newport had a small export and import trade. Under the Town Councils (Scotland) Act 1900 (63 and 64 Vict., c.49) the police commissioners were replaced by Newport on Tay Town Council in January 1901. Its population in 1971 was 3,719.
Newport Town Council was abolished in 1975 under the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 (c.65). Its powers were assumed by Fife Regional Council and North East Fife District Council. These in turn were replaced by Fife Council in 1996 under the Local Government etc (Scotland) Act 1994 (c.39).
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project, 27 February 2003 and modified on 5 August 2003.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.