Includes minute books, correspondence files, agendas and financial records.
Records of the Ancient Parish of Llangwstennin Charities
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Two charities administered for the benefit of qualifying parishioners.
The Charity of the Rev Edward Roberts, founded by Indenture dated 23 June 1868, was established to benefit the poor people of the parish, aged 60 years or more. The charity was funded by the annual rent from 'Deunant', a property in Upper Colwyn Bay.
The ancient Parish of the Charity of Lewis Owen, founded by Will dated 4 Sept 1623, was to benefit the poor of the parish by the supply of clothing. This charity was funded by a share of the Rectorial Tithes of the Parish.
In 1931 the joint administration of the two charities was approved by Order of the Board of Charity Commissioners for England and Wales.
Money and clothing were traditionally distributed on St Thomas' Day (21 Dec). More recently, benefits were distributed in the form of vouchers, to be redeemed at shops and businesses within the parish. Originally set at 60, the minimum age for application eventually changed to 65.
The property known as 'Deunant' was sold in 1970 and the money invested on behalf of the Charity. At a meeting on 9 Sept 2002, the Trustees passed a resolution that 'the charity no longer provided the function for which it was intended. With the benefits system which now exists this is not relevant to the circumstances of today', and an application was made to the Charity Commission to wind up the Charity. Following approval from the Commission, the Ancient Parish of Llangwstennin Charities were closed on 19 Feb 2003 and the total funds of £2211.94 were donated to St David's Hospice, Abbey Road. Llandudno.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
The records were passed to Conwy Archive Service in Sept 2003