Minutes, 1852-1871; Accounts, 1854 and 1860-1885; Manager's minutes, 1846-1872.
Records of Auchtermuchty East United Presbyterian Church
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Auchtermuchty Associate (Burgher) congregation, which sat within the Presbytery of Cupar, commenced during the year 1748, but the origin of the secession congregation can be taken back to 1738, when a praying society within the parish of Auchtermuchty acceded to the Associate Presbytery. The reason for the establishment of the charge was to provide a meeting place for families who had been drawn away from their own ministers at Leslie and Ceres and also at Abernethy and Orwell. The first church to house the congregation was built in 1750, and the first Burgher minister was inducted in 1752. The congregation continued, bearing the name Auchtermuchty East, apparently falling later within the United Secession Church (from 1820) and from 1847 within the United Presbyterian Church, when it was within the Presbytery of Cupar. A new church was opened in 1846.
During the 1850s the congregation declined, partly as Auchtermuchty's population was falling. The decision was taken to merge the two U.P. sessions of Auchtermuchty East and Auchtermuchty West, to form the charge of Auchtermuchty South. The union took place on 23 April 1873 and the East Church, being the newer of the two buildings, was appointed as the place of worship of the new South Church congregation. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900 Auchtermuchty South became Auchtermuchty South United Free Church.
Source: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900 (Edinburgh, 1904).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.