Scope and Content

Consists of papers relating to Home Grown Sugar Limited, English Beet Sugar Corporation Ltd, Kelham Cottages Ltd, English Beet Sugar Corporation Ltd, Ely Beet Sugar Factory Limited, Ipswich Beet Sugar Factory, Anglo-Scottish Beet Sugar Corporation Ltd, Second Anglo-Scottish Beet Sugar Corporation Ltd, West Midland Sugar Company Limited, United Sugar Company Limited, Central Sugar Compnay Limited, Yorkshire Sugar Company Limited, Shropshire Beet Sugar Company Limited, Lincolnshire Sugar Company Ltd, Second Lincolnshire Sugar Company Ltd, British Sugar Manufacturers Ltd, King's Lynn Beet Sugar Factory Limited, Stetten Patents Syndicate Limited, Sankey Sugar Company Limited, Anglo-Netherlands Sugar Corporation Ltd, British Flax and Hemp Growers Society Ltd, Fen Fibre Company Ltd, British Empire Producers Organisation, British Tobacco Growers Society Ltd, Orchard Sugar Company Ltd, Tate and Lyle Ltd, Wessex Flax Factory Ltd, Irish Sugar Company, includes correspondence 1910-1960; memoranda 1910-1960; accounts 1910-1960; reports 1910-1960; news cuttings 1910-1960; papers relating to Parliament and the sugar industry 1910-1960

Administrative / Biographical History

Sir Alfred Wood was the director of the British Sugar Corporation. The British Sugar Corporation was formed in 1936, from 13 companies, as a result of the Sugar Industry (Reorganisation) Act. The new company was formed to manage the domestic crop of sugar beet. The Government held a 36% stake in the company until 1981, the company is now owned by Associated British Foods. The company is based at Foley Park, Kidderminster

Access Information

Available for consultation


Compiled by Zoe Watson, April 2004

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the Archivist