Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York, Centenary Circuit

Scope and Content

Circuit administration, comprising Circuit Committee meeting minute books, 1890-1902, 1926-1981; Local Preachers’ Meeting records, including meeting minute books, 1888-1955, 1966-1981; accounts for Horse Hire Fund, 1916-1978; cash book, 1958; correspondence to secretary, 1950s-1960s; pamphlets and correspondence from Local Preachers’ Department, 1961-1968; and the papers of the Local Preachers’ Meeting secretary, 1929-1979; Circuit handbooks and plans, 1894-1988; Circuit schedules, 1888-1945, 1975; membership schedules book, 1944-1976; and programme for final circuit meeting, 1981.

Financial records, including Circuit Steward’s account books, 1888-1907, 1925-1954, 1966-1981, and financial papers, 1957-1981; and Connexional funds book, 1974-1981.

Papers relating to Trust property, including Trust property schedules, 1888-1980; annual Trustees’ meeting minute book, 1904-1980; Circuit Manse Trustees’ minute book, 1950-1976, and account book, 1947-1965; register of Trust deeds, 1920, c.1971; deeds relating to 55 Union Terrace, 1872-1938; and copy conveyance of 1a St Oswald’s Road, Fulford, 1951.

Records of Circuit groups and organisations, comprising Circuit Missionary Committee records, including meeting minute book, 1888-1981, and file of circulars, correspondence and associated papers, 1955-1972; Circuit Sunday School records, including minute book, 1920-1942, schedules, 1910-1918, and papers and accounts relating to the Circuit Sunday School Council, 1928-1972; Circuit Temperance Committee (later the Christian Citizenship Committee) meeting minute book, 1906-1955; Circuit Women’s Work Committee meeting minutes, 1949-1973; Three York Circuits Missionary Committee papers, including meeting minutes, 1950-1966, and programme for missionary thanksgivings, 1962-1966; Overseas Missions Division records, including general fund circuit schemes, 1971-1979, and cash book, 1975-1981; student chaplaincy papers, 1972-1975.

Administrative / Biographical History

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, York, Centenary Circuit continued as a circuit of the new single Methodist Connexion of Great Britain.

After 1932 the Circuit included Centenary Chapel, Melbourne Terrace Chapel, and St George's Chapel in York, as well as chapels at Deighton, Dunnington, Gate Helmsley, Heslington, Heworth, Fulford, Murton, Stamford Bridge, Stillingfleet and Warthill. From 1957 it was part of the York and Hull District of the Methodist Church.

In 1981 the Circuit amalgamated with York, Wesley Circuit to form York, South Circuit.

The York, Centenary Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion was formed out of the York (New Street) Circuit in 1888.

At its creation, it included Centenary Chapel, Melbourne Terrace Chapel, St George's School and the Layerthorpe Wesleyan Mission Hall in York, in addition to chapels at Deighton, Dunnington, Heslington, Heworth, Fulford, Gate Helmsley, Murton, Naburn, Osbaldwick, Stamford Bridge, Stillingfleet, Warthill and Wheldrake.

The Circuit continued as a circuit of the new single Methodist Connexion of Great Britain following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932.

Arrangement

The archive incorporates the records of two successive Methodist Circuits: the York, Centenary Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion (1888-c 1932) and the York,Centenary Circuit of the Methodist Connexion of the Methodist Church of Great Britain (c 1932-1981).

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1984. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1987, 1988, 1994, 1996, 2004 and 2009.

Note

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, York, Centenary Circuit continued as a circuit of the new single Methodist Connexion of Great Britain.

After 1932 the Circuit included Centenary Chapel, Melbourne Terrace Chapel, and St George's Chapel in York, as well as chapels at Deighton, Dunnington, Gate Helmsley, Heslington, Heworth, Fulford, Murton, Stamford Bridge, Stillingfleet and Warthill. From 1957 it was part of the York and Hull District of the Methodist Church.

In 1981 the Circuit amalgamated with York, Wesley Circuit to form York, South Circuit.

The York, Centenary Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion was formed out of the York (New Street) Circuit in 1888.

At its creation, it included Centenary Chapel, Melbourne Terrace Chapel, St George's School and the Layerthorpe Wesleyan Mission Hall in York, in addition to chapels at Deighton, Dunnington, Heslington, Heworth, Fulford, Gate Helmsley, Murton, Naburn, Osbaldwick, Stamford Bridge, Stillingfleet, Warthill and Wheldrake.

The Circuit continued as a circuit of the new single Methodist Connexion of Great Britain following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 08.12.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

The Wesleyan Missionary Society account book for the Centenary Circuit, 1889-1907, is deposited at York Minster Archives.

The records of chapels within the circuits are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute, namely Deighton; Dunnington; Fulford; Gate Helmsley; Heslington; Murton; Naburn; Osbaldwick; Stamford Bridge; Stillingfleet; Warthill and Wheldrake, as well as Central; Heworth; Melbourne Terrace and St George's chapels and Layerthorpe Wesleyan Mission in York.

The Borthwick also holds the records of the York District of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and the York and Whitby, and York and Hull Districts of the Methodist Connexion.

Additional Information

Published

GB193