Later Conway Non-provided School, later Rosehill School, later Ysgol Cadnant. Original school believed to have been held in Plas Mawr.
Records of Conway National Schools
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The National Schools movement planned a Church of England School in Conway as early as 1838 [see CE3/40: letter from Bishop of Bangor to Rev John Owen subscribing £10 towards its establishment] and the Infants' School was opened in 1840 on land sold by Sir David and Lady Erskine to Sir Richard Bulkeley and others, in trust for the purposes of promoting the education of the poor in the principles of the Established Church.
The Boys' School was opened in 1887 and enlarged in 1902; the Girls' School occupied a new building in 1897.
An Evening School was also held for a short time between October 1896 and March 1897.
Having survived a succession of negative HMI reports on the location of the Infants' School, in c.1927 it was accepted that the Boys' and Girls' Schools should unite to form a Mixed Dept., and that the Infants' School should move to the former Girls' School [later known as Ysgol Bodlondeb].
In 1961 the Mixed Dept. moved from the old Rosehill Street building to occupy Cadnant School [formerly the old Aberconway School]. In c.1997 all the Conwy Primary Schools came together as Ysgol Porth-y-Felin, in a new building situated on Llanrwst Road.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Transferred from Gwynedd Archives Service, 2000