King Edward VI School, Bury St Edmunds: Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Manuscript volumes relating to school business, written in English unless otherwise indicated.

MS.Add.7930: Library catalogue and donors' book, in Latin, 1673-1761. At the front of the volume is the bookplate of the school. Inserted at the end is a list, in English, of 'Additional donors to the period to 1761'.

MS.Add.7931: Library donors' book, 1762-1934. At the front of the volume is the bookplate of the school.

MS.Add.7932: Notebook containing lists of governors, statutes, etc., 1806.

MS.Add.7933: Register of scholars, 1887-1893. Most of the volume is unused.

Administrative / Biographical History

King Edward VI School, Bury St Edmunds, was opened on 3 August 1550 in Eastgate Street as a grammar school for boys studying Greek, Latin and religious instruction. The school has been based at several sites throughout the town, and now resides at Grove Road.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by King Edward's Grammar School, Bury St Edmunds, 1970.

Other Finding Aids

None.

Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Bibliography

The history of the school was compiled with reference to its website (www.king-ed.suffolk.sch.uk/).