Charters, titles, tacks, burgess tickets etc. including letter from James VI, 1588 of Barclay family and relating to lands and barony of Collairnie, including Caskerdo, Kinsleffs, Ladifferon, Kinninmonth, Lumbenny, Pitbladdo etc. with references to the Abbey of Lindores.
Papers of the Barclay family of Collairnie, Dunbog, Fife
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The estate is known to have been in the possession of the Barclay family by 1350. The superiors were the lords of Ballinbreich, later Earls of Rothes, and a dispute with them led to the confirmation by the King James IV of the Barclays in the barony of Collairnie in 1510. In 1536 David Barclay was appointed by the abbot and monks of Lindores to the office of Bailiary of the monastery which became the hereditary position of Bailie of Lindores, confirmed by Queen Mary in 1567 and held by the family until 1748. In 1789 the estate was sold to Dr Francis Balfour, third son of Arthur Balfour of Fernie.
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted.
Purchased by the library from an antique seller in 1979.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project Archivist using AH Millar, Fife: Pictorial and Historical, (Cupar, 1895).
Other Finding Aids
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material is original.