Gresford National School was built in 1725. In 1838 two large schoolrooms and an infants school were added to the original building. In 1883 another extension was added to accomodate the boys, and in 1886 the infants room was enlarged. In 1906 the school was renamed Gresford Non Provided School no51.
A new school was built in 1910, to house the elementary pupils, whilst the stone school became the infant school; the original 1726 school building ceased to be used. In 1920 the boys and girls departments became a mixed department, occupying the girls school; whilst the infants transferred to the boys school. In 1970 additional classrooms, staff room and hall with proscenium stage was added.
In 1992 the school was remodeled, and in 2006 a further extention was added including a library and computer suite. In 2012, ther were 342 pupils enrolled at the school.
This collection includes log books, admission registers and managers minutes.
Clappers Lane, Gresfod.
Related Material held at Denbighshire Archives-
DD/WY/176 - Copy trust deed for Gwersyllt National School, 19th February 1852
J Colin Jones, Gresford Village and Church, 1995