This collection consists of material relating mainly to copper mining at Parys Mountain and the Amlwch area of Anglesey. It includes plans, maps, sales particulars, correspondence, reports and other miscellaneous documents relating to the mining business and to land at Caernarfon, Llandudno, Conwy and Anglesey.
Peckover, Burrill and Owen Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Peckover, Burrill and Owen of High Street, Bangor acted as land agents for the Marquess of Anglesey in north Wales. This collection relates mainly to copper mining in the parish of Amlwch, Anglesey, in particular at the Parys Mountain and Mona mines owned by the Marquess.
Henry Bayly (1744-1812), 9th Baron Paget and heir of Sir Nicholas Bayly formed the Mona Mine Company in 1785 together with Thomas Williams of Llanidan (1737-1802), to work the rich deposits of copper discovered on the eastern side of Parys Mountain, near Amlwch in 1762. He also owned half of the Parys Mine Company. Henry was succeeded by his eldest son, Henry William Paget (1768-1854) who was created first Marquess of Anglesey in 1814 as a reward for his military achievements at Waterloo, where he lost a leg.
The mine was worked intensively from about 1768 until it began to decline around 1850. This decline of the Anglesey copper industry accelerated during the second half of the nineteenth century, until the mines and smelting works were closed down.
Material is arranged according to type, in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, September 2001
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Department of Manuscripts at the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 31584-31685
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.