Papers of John Stephenson and His Family of Beverley

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The papers of John Stephenson and his family arrived in the Brynmor Jones Library in 1974 as part of the second large deposit of solicitors' papers from Crust Todd and Mills of Beverley. They comprise business and personal financial papers such as title deeds, banks books 1876-1904 and the bank book and related papers of John Stephenson's executors 1904-1956. His personal finance records include those for grocers and greengrocers as well as provisioners of milk, fish, poultry, game, meat and tea. A few letters relate to his seed crushing business at Hull Bridge and there are some family letters such as those from his son, James, while at school. Business papers also include the articles of partnership between John Stephenson and his son James and an insurance policy for the seed crushing mill.

Other papers include some Stephenson family parish certificates, an inventory from `The Chestnuts', New Walk Beverley, the costs of building `The Chestnuts' and a few Broadley family papers relating to lands in Lund.

Marriage settlements in the collection are those of Henry Broadley and Betty Ann Jarratt (1774) and Samuel Best Denton and Ann Elizabeth Elliott (1822). Wills are those of Robert Parker (1771), James Percy (1784), Elizabeth Parker (1785), Jane Gray (1804), Betty Ann Broadley (1806), Thomas Broadley (1814), Anna Maria Elliott (1820), Ann Elizabeth Denton (1822), William Richardson (1838), John Robinson (1850), Susan Stephenson (1853) and John Stephenson (1886).

Administrative / Biographical History

John Stephenson came from a large family of yeoman farmers and small trades people living and working in the Beverley area. His father, also John Stephenson, invested in land at Lund and also Hull Bridge to the north west of Beverley, one mile from Tickton, in the 1820s and 1830s. Hull Bridge was a small industrial settlement and over the next two decades John Stephenson and his father had a mill there for seed crushing. Sometime after his father died he went into partnership with his eldest son, James Stephenson. In 1889 John Stephenson built `The Chestnuts' in the fashionable new development in New Walk, Beverley, and some of the papers relate to this. John Stephenson died in 1904 and many of the business and personal papers in the collection relate to the management of his estate by his solicitors. The family firm closed in 1921 and their warehouses were demolished in 1984 (Bellamy, `Some aspects of the economy of Hull' I, p.357n.; Pevsner & Neave, York and the East Riding, p.726).

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Note

Originally published by Access to Archives - A2A. The data in this finding aid is in the copyright of the place of deposit.

Other Finding Aids

listed to item level

Related Material

DDCV/15/255, 480-481; DDCV/34/14; DDCV/209/1-2; DDCV(2)/3/63; DDCV(2)/53/20; DDCV(2)/86/40; DDGE/3/9, 112; DDGE(2)/1/1, 95-96; DDMC/19/1; DDMC/108/56

Bibliography

Bellamy, Joyce, `Some aspects of the economy of Hull in the nineteenth century with special reference to business history' (PhD, Hull, 1965)

Pevsner, Nikolaus & Neave, David, The buildings of England: York and the East Riding (1995)