Administrative records for St John's Church of England Primary School, Richmond
St John's Church of England Primary School (formerly St John's National Schools Richmond)
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 S18
- Dates of Creation1940 - 1974
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St John's School opened in 1840 as a Sunday School for boys and girls, two infant schools, and a girls' school of industry in Clarence Street and New Richmond, attached to St John's Church in Kew Road, Richmond. By 1853 there were 116 children on roll at the infant schools and girls' school in Clarence Street. Funds were raised in 1867 to build a boys' school on the Clarence Street site. By 1886 there were 347 children on roll at the schools, which were collectively known as St John's National Schools. By 1948, the school was known as St John's Church of England Primary School. The school closed on 26 July 1974. The site is now occupied by the Orange Tree Theatre.
Local Studies only holds one record for this school. The admissions register was current while the school changed its name from St John's National Schools to St John's Church of England Primary School, but no mention was made of this name change. It is therefore assumed that there was continuity of administration and any records for St John's National Schools will be catalogued together with those of St John's Church of England Primary School.
The St John's Church of England Primary School Collection is arranged into 1 series record:
- S18/1 Admissions registers, 1940-1974
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is closed and not currently available for research.
For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html