- Memorandum and articles of association 1950;
- Directors' reports and accounts 1934-1958;
- Shareholding records 1905-1938 .
Records of Collin Croft Brewery Co Ltd, brewers, Kendal, Cumbria, England
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 CC
- Dates of Creation1905-1958
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.03 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
James Geldred operated the Collin Croft Brewery , Beezon Road, Kendal, Cumbria, England , until 1905 when Collin Croft Brewery Co Ltd was registered as a limited liability company to acquire the business. The company also acted as the Lake District agent of William Younger & Co Ltd , Edinburgh, Scotland , and was acquired by that company after the death of its owner C W Gelderd in 1933. However, the brewery continued to run Collin Croft as a separate company. By 1949 the company had ceased to brew and it owned a number of licensed premises. The company continued to bottle Younger's beer until its dissolution in 1965 .
Keir, David . The Younger Centuries. The Story of William Younger & Co Ltd 1749 to 1949(Edinburgh: William Younger, 1951)
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Scottish & Newcastle plc
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Amanda Jackson, Scottish Brewing Archive Assistant, 3 February 2000. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Natalie Milne, Hub Archives Assistant, October 1 2001; Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 14 January 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 28 November 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 09 May 2012.