- Corporate records, 1977–1979;
- Shareholding records, 1920–1932;
- Financial records, 1910–1978;
- Production records, 1928–1980;
- Sales records, 1944–1966;
- Staff records, 1919–1965;
- Licensed premises, records 1882–1963;
- Property records, 1871–1980;
- Promotional material, undated;
- Photographs, 1970s–1982.
Records of Lorimer & Clark Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 LC
- Dates of Creation1871-1982
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description8.10 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
George Lorimer began brewing in 1865 . In 1869 he formed a partnership with Robert Clark , previously a brewer at Alexander Melvin 's Boroughloch Brewery , Edinburgh, Scotland , and established the Caledonian Brewery in Slateford Road, Edinburgh . They expanded into west Scotland and north eastern England and entered into a trading agreement with C Vaux & Sons Ltd , Sunderland, England , in 1919 . Lorimer & Clark Ltd was registered in January 1920 as a limited liability company to acquire the business of the same name. The company was taken over by Vaux Associated Breweries Ltd , Sunderland, in 1946 and ceased to trade in 1963 , although the Caledonian Brewery continued to brew. In 1959 Vaux acquired Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd , brewers of Glasgow and Edinburgh and Thomas Usher & Son Ltd ’s Park Brewery, Edinburgh . In 1961 Vaux acquired another Scottish company, the firm of John Wright & Co of Perth, Scotland . Production concentrated on the two main Edinburgh plants, the Caledonian Brewery at Slateford and the Park Brewery in St Leonard's Street. After the closure of Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd the Usher brewery expanded considerably. In Thomas Usher & Son Ltd 1972 changed their name to Usher's Brewery Ltd and in c1979 to Lorimer's Breweries Ltd . The Lorimer & Clark label was revived in Scotland in the late 1970s , which a previous trade agreement between Vaux and Usher had prevented. In Vaux Breweries Ltd 1980 sold the assets of Steel, Coulson & Co Ltd , Lorimer’s Breweries Ltd and John Wright & Co to Allied Breweries Ltd , London, England . The Caledonian Brewery continued to brew under the control of Vaux Breweries Ltd until 1985 when the brewery was closed. In 1987 the Caledonian Brewery was sold to the Caledonian Brewery Co Ltd .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Lorimer & Clark Ltd in 1983, 1984 and 1986.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material.
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 07 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 21 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 4 February 2002.