Papers of Mitchell's Hospital, Old Aberdeen, relating to proposals for a new scheme of administration, and for the re-building of the hospital as 4 separate cottages, which were approved by the Trustees, c 1922 - 1223. The collection includes copies of the said proposals, in draft and fair form; a copy of the amended Deed of Mortification and Scheme for the Administration of Mitchell's Hospital, Old Aberdeen (Aberdeen: G. Cornwall and Sons, 1923); schedules of application, 1924 - 1925 (containing names and details of applicants for admission to the hospital); memoranda re. hospital funds, 1926 - 1927; and other miscellaneous papers.
Records of Mitchell's Hospital, Old Aberdeen
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 231 MS 3108
- Dates of Creation1920s
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 file No physical characteristics affecting use of collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Mitchell's Hospital, 9 Chanonry, Old Aberdeen, was instituted on 15th April 1801, by David Mitchell, of Holloway Down, Essex, to provide lodging, maintenance and clothing for aged widows and maiden daughters of decayed gentlemen, or merchants, or trades burgesses of Old Aberdeen (Deed of Mortification and Regulations for Mitchell's Hospital, Old Aberdeen (Aberdeen: G. Cornwall and Sons, 1875), p. 3). A sum of £5,500 was assigned to the hospital trustees, Roderick McLeod, Principal, King's College, Aberdeen, William Jack, Sub-Principal, Gilbert Gerald, Professor of Divinity, and Hugh Leslie Esq., Provost of Aberdeen, for maintaining the hospital.
For further details see Deed of Mortification and Regulations for Mitchell's Hospital, Old Aberdeen (Aberdeen: G. Cornwall and Sons, 1875). Copies are available for consultation in Special Libraries and Archives, University of Aberdeen, ref. p Lambda Mitchell, David (e-mail: email@example.com).
None observed - listing in process
Open, subject to signature accepting conditions of use at reader registration sheet
Deposited in the University in Jul 1982, by Miss Daniel, daughter of the Convenor of the Incorporated Trades of Old Aberdeen, which was responsible, latterly, for administration of the hospital.
Other Finding Aids
Very brief collection level description available on Aberdeen University Library Catalogue, accessible online http://www.abdn.ac.uk/diss/library/
Alternative Form Available
No copies known
Conditions Governing Use
Subject to the condition of the original, copies may be supplied for private research use only on receipt of a signed undertaking to comply with current copyright legislation.
Permission to make any published use of material from the collection must be sought in advance from the Head of Special Libraries and Archives (e-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org) and, where appropriate, from the copyright owner. Where possible, assistance will be given in identifying copyright owners, but responsibility for ensuring copyright clearance rests with the user of the material.
This material has been appraised in line with normal procedures
See deposit details, below
No accruals expected
No known publications using this material
This material is original