These are the records of Springfield Lodge Inebriates' Home, 1907-1917.
The site of Springfield Lodge was officially opened as Denmark Hill Inebriates' Home in June 1907; the first residents were a transfer of female 'inebriates' from Hillsborough House, Hackney. In 1915 the work of Denmark Hill Inebriates' Home was transferred first to Hope Town (Hopetown), Hackney, and then to Ellerslie, Hackney, and the site of Springfield Lodge reopened as a Home for Mentally Deficient Women.
The records in this collection relate only to inebriacy work and include some records dating from the period when this work was relocated from Springfield Lodge to Hopetown and Ellerslie. The collection comprises:
SPR/1: History Book
The History Book contains details of individual female residents at Springfield Lodge, and some from its predecessor, Hillsborough House, and its successors, Hopetown and Ellerslie. Information is registered in two sections: admissions ('History') and exit ('Career after leaving the home').
Admission categories include home no; name; age; where born; manner of application; where from; date; cause of fall. The admissions section also comprises an in-depth statement ('Further Particulars') detailing the history, circumstances and character of the applicant based on their primary interview with a Salvation Army Social Work officer; a list of further 'Dates of Warden's Interviews'; and details of 'Disposal on Leaving the Home'.
Exit categories include change of address and 'contributions to Out-of-Love Fund'. This section also comprises dates and details of further communication between the resident and the home.