The copies cover records for the period 1863-1939 and include summaries of shares and annualbalance sheets for both companies. The series of minute books are for the Staveley works only.
Copies of records of the Stanton Ironworks Co. Ltd and the Staveley Coal and Iron Co.Ltd, 1863-1939
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 St
- Dates of Creation1863-1939
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 box, 16 volumes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Stanton-by-Dale and Staveley are two villages near Ilkeston, Derbyshire in an area rich inironstone.
In the 1780s, quarrying began and ironworks were set up on Stanton Moor between the villages ofStanton-by-Dale and Dale Abbey by Charles, the third Earl Stanhope.
The first blast furnace plant at Stanton was completed and prepared for use in 1846 and this wasfollowed by further furnaces constructed to meet the demands of the boom in the iron and coal trade.Production at Stanton increased from 500 tons of pig iron a month in the mid nineteenth century to7,000 tons at the close of the century. Iron pipe manufacture began at Stanton in 1919 and concretepipe production followed a year later. The Stanton Company acquired the share capital of HolwellIron Co. Ltd near Melton Mowbray in 1918, the Oakwell Red and Blue Brick Co. Ltd near Ilkeston in1919, Riddings Ironworks near Alfreton in 1920, and the Wellingborough Iron Co. Ltd in 1932 as wellas the blast furnace and pipe foundry businesses of several other conglomerates. The Stanton Companymerged with Stewarts and Lloyds Ltd, pipe manufacturers in 1939.
Quarrying for iron ore took place on the Duke of Devonshire's land at Staveley from the 17thcentury and an iron foundry and furnace was established there.
The Staveley Coal and Iron Company became a public limited company in 1863-1864 at a time whenthe ironworks was producing 20,000 tons of iron castings per year. Charles Markham (1823-1888) tookover as managing director and chief engineer in 1863 overseeing a massive expansion in the company,particularly in iron pipe production and coal mining. His elder son, Charles Paxton Markham held thechairmanship from 1894 to 1926 with cast iron production increasing from 700,000 tons a year at thestart of his tenure to 2.5 million tons by 1905. The coal industry was nationalised in 1946 and theStaveley Iron and Chemical Company was sold to Stewarts and Lloyds Ltd for six million pounds in1960.
Material is arranged according to form (e.g. minutes, accounts) and further sub divided asnecessary. Documents are listed chronologically within sections.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and privatestudy purposes only, depending on copyright status and the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the reading room of The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections:Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 4 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London:Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 4 pp
- Other collections listed through the NationalRegister of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must besought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and SpecialCollections (email firstname.lastname@example.org).The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.
Copies of key records, made in the 1970s in connection with the writing of the firm's history,were given to The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts by a member of theUniversity's academic staff in 1980. Since that time, the surviving archives of the Stanton andStaveley Ironworks have been transferred to Derbyshire Record Office.
- Stanley Chapman, Stanton and Staveley: a business history (Woodhead-Faulkner;Cambridge, 1980)