Deeds and related papers collected by the Watkin family of Muriau Mawr, 1771-1919, including deeds relating to the parish of Criccieth, 1814-1919; Llanbeblig, 1809-1844; Llandwrog, 1771-1892; miscellaneous papers, 1857-1913.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XM/3300
- Dates of Creation1771-1919
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(107 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Watkin family of Muriau Mawr, owned land in Criccieth, Caernarfonshire, in the 19th and 20th centuries. William Watkin, mariner, married Ann Roberts of Parkin, Criccieth, in 1819. By the late 19th century, William Watkin (d.1895), farmer and land agent lived at Muriau Mawr. His son was William Williams Watkin.
Arranged into the following: Deeds relating to the parish of Criccieth; Deeds relating to the parish of Llanbeblig; Deeds relating to the parish of Llandwrog; Deeds relating to the parish of Llanllyfni; Miscellaneous papers.
Conditions Governing Access
Source not recorded
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Papurau Watkin/ Watkin Papers, catalogue; Caernarfon Record Office, Catalogue of the Papers of the Watkin family of Muriau [Mawr] Criccieth.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office and the National Library of Wales.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained.
Accruals are not expected