Parish records of Bilton in Ainsty

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1571-1803, 1813-1842; register of marriages, 1571-1837; register of burials, 1571-1803, 1813-1868; register of banns, 1799-1822; names of godparents, 1571-1606/1607; records concerning benefice income, including tithe, 1924, sequestration, 1960, income and glebe papers, 1856, 1925-1931; churchwardens’ records, including briefs, 1602-1704, fabric papers, 1869-1972, and visitors' book, 1973-1984; records of incumbents, including copies of London Gazette, giving notices concerning Bilton, 1867-1938; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including electoral roll, 1948-1964, enclosure award and map, 1792, and transcript of war memorial, 2001-2002.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Helen at Bilton in Ainsty was erected in 1166, replacing an earlier Saxon structure. The patronage of the church was granted to the Prioress and Convent of Synningthwaite until 1293 when it became a peculiar of the newly constituted Prebendary of Bilton. A vicarage was ordained therein in 1295.

The parish historically included the villages of Bickerton and Tockwith. The vicarage was augmented in 1761 through Queen Anne’s Bounty, and again in 1817 by parliamentary grant.

St Helen’s Church was restored by George Gilbert Scott in 1869-1871. By the 1930s the patronage of the church had passed to the Dean and Chapter of Ripon. However the parish was transferred to the Dean and Chapter of York in 1938 in exchange for the benefice of Burton Leonard.

In 1867 Tockwith separated from Bilton in Ainsty to form its own parish. Today Bilton in Ainsty parish is known as Bilton with Bickerton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1972 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1974, 1982, 1988, 1996, 2001, and 2002.

Note

The church of St Helen at Bilton in Ainsty was erected in 1166, replacing an earlier Saxon structure. The patronage of the church was granted to the Prioress and Convent of Synningthwaite until 1293 when it became a peculiar of the newly constituted Prebendary of Bilton. A vicarage was ordained therein in 1295.

The parish historically included the villages of Bickerton and Tockwith. The vicarage was augmented in 1761 through Queen Anne’s Bounty, and again in 1817 by parliamentary grant.

St Helen’s Church was restored by George Gilbert Scott in 1869-1871. By the 1930s the patronage of the church had passed to the Dean and Chapter of Ripon. However the parish was transferred to the Dean and Chapter of York in 1938 in exchange for the benefice of Burton Leonard.

In 1867 Tockwith separated from Bilton in Ainsty to form its own parish. Today Bilton in Ainsty parish is known as Bilton with Bickerton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up and including 2002.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1571-1842, marriages, 1571-1837, burials, 1571-1868, and banns, 1799-1822, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 638, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 22.12.15.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193