Comprising: Registration: Registers of Banns 1857-1926, Registers of Services 1910-1958; Incumbent 1855, 1915-1941; churchwardens late 19th century 1958; PCC accounts 1931-1983; School account 1890-1913; other records 1886-1980s, including a student study of the churches of Hensall, Cowick and Pollington 1980s, 18 pages and 33 illustrations
HENSALL, ST PAUL PARISH RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The church of St Paul Hensall was consecrated in October 1854 as a chapel of ease in the parishes of Snaith and Kellington, and allocated a parish by Order in Council in March the following year. The church designed by Butterfield, was built at the expense of Viscount Downe, and is one of three churches in the area (the other two are at Cowick and Pollington) financed by Downe and designed by Butterfield.
A brief study of the three churches is to be found amongst the records.
The collection is divided into six series as follows:
P75/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship
P75/4: Vestry and Parochial Church Council
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries