St Luke's Church of England Junior and Infant School (formerly known as St Luke's Mixed School, St Luke's Day School, St Luke's National School, and St John's Sandy Lane School)

Scope and Content

Administrative records for St Luke's Church of England Junior and Infant School and its predecessor schools.

Administrative / Biographical History

St John's Sandy Lane School opened in Sandycombe Road, Kew, in around 1878, and was known as St Luke's National School by 1885. By 1904 it was known as St Luke's Day Schools, by 1923 as St Luke's Mixed School, and by 1963 as St Luke's Church of England Junior and Infants School. The school closed on 25 July 1980. The building survives as St Luke's House Education Centre.

Arrangement

Local Studies only holds 5 volumes of records for St Luke's Church of England Junior and Infant Schools for its 102 year history. However, the records that we do hold cover the periods when the school changes its name, and there was no change in administration or function during these times; despite the name changes, then, all the records of the school have been catalogued together.



The St Luke's Church of England Junior and Infant School Collection is arranged into 3 series records:

  • S16/1 Log Books, 1878-1980
  • S16/2 Punishment Books, 1923-1967
  • S16/3 Minute Books, 1913-1938

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html

Related Material

The following are located at The National Archives: Elementary Education Endowment Files 1894-1904, ref: ED 49/7473 Ministry of Education: Public Elementary School Files, 1877-1918, ref: ED 21/17157, 1922-1935, ref: ED 21/40868, 1936-1941, ref: 21/61983 The following are located at the Surrey History Centre: Minute book 1968-1969, ref: 3497/6/2 Log book and managers' minutes 1938-1967, ref: 8175