Abergele and Pensarn Urban District Council (UDC), Denbighshire, was established under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. The Council consisted of councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. The UDC originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the Pensarn and Abergele local sanitary authorities and its responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, housing, streets, cemeteries, libraries, parks, controls on buildings such as petrol stations, and licensing of public entertainments. UDCs were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Medical Officer of Health, Surveyor, Rating Officer and Sanitary Inspector. In 1935, the urban district's boundaries were extended, and the council was renamed Abergele UDC. The council was abolished in 1974.
Records of Abergele and Pensarn Urban District Council, 1853-[c. 1974], comprising Clerk's records, 1898-1944, including minutes, 1898-1935; Treasurer's records, 1896-1935, including ledgers, 1902-1935, financial statements, 1896-1932, and wages books, 1927-1933; Rating Officer's records, 1929-1934; Housing Officer's registers, 1914-1936, and accounts, 1924-1936; Surveyor's maps and plans relating to roads, sewerage and holiday camps, 1905-1935, and building control plan registers, 1900-[c. 1974]; Public Health Inspector's journal, 1907-1935; deeds and other documents relating mainly to Bryn Coch, Abergele, 1853-1928; Engineer's agreements, 1931; and Gwrych Castle estate sale particulars, 1909.
dated 1853-[c. 1974] (mainly 1890-1935)