Parish records of York, St Thomas

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1855-1991; register of marriages, 1855-1988; register of burials, 1931-1976; register of burials, 1960-1974; register of banns, 1965-1996; register of services, 1972-1977, 1987-2000; register of services for City Hospital, York, 1980-1996; register of confirmations, 1962-1963; other registration material, 1969-1977; marriage licences, 1969-1977; charity records, including correspondence regarding John Walker Prize Fund, 1910-1911; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1854-1917, and fabric papers, 1897, 1899, 1911, 1958-1967; records of incumbents, including parsonage house papers, 1948-1949, 1967; file of correspondence and papers relating to the redevelopment of the former St Thomas' School, 108 Lowther Street, as a Probation Day Centre for North Yorkshire Probation Service 1993-1996; terrier and Inventory, 1900; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1855-1971, accounts and financial papers, 1930-1968, 1993-2010, electoral roll, n.d, and correspondence and papers, 1925-1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of York, St Thomas was created in 1855 when it separated from York, St Olave to form its own parish in the north of the city. The parish church of St Thomas on Lowther Street had been designed by architect George Fowler Jones in 1853-1854 and consecrated the latter year. The church was enlarged in 1899.

In 1902 the church of St Luke on Burton Stone Lane was consecrated as a chapel of ease to St Thomas’. In March 1910 it separated from St Thomas’ to unite with St Olave.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1975 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1989, 1992, 1997 and 2014.

Note

The parish of York, St Thomas was created in 1855 when it separated from York, St Olave to form its own parish in the north of the city. The parish church of St Thomas on Lowther Street had been designed by architect George Fowler Jones in 1853-1854 and consecrated the latter year. The church was enlarged in 1899.

In 1902 the church of St Luke on Burton Stone Lane was consecrated as a chapel of ease to St Thomas’. In March 1910 it separated from St Thomas’ to unite with St Olave.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1997. Later material has not yet been listed.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1855-1969, marriages, 1855-1979, and burials, 1931-1976, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 878-880, 1758).

Archivist's Note

Created 12.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193