Plans of Loughborough College playing fields and designs for new sports pavilion there; postcard views of Loughborough College premises including workshops and halls of residence.
A J Wallis Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Arthur Jephson Wallis (1911-1983) was admitted to the Civil Engineering Department at Loughborough College in 1929, graduating with a First Class Diploma in 1933. He went on to become Borough Surveyor of Weymouth. In 1932-33 the final year project for Civil Engineering students was to design a pavilion for the new stadium and running track at the College and the College Union offered a prize for the chosen design. Wallis's pavilion design was the winner. The completed pavilion was opened by Lord Aberdare in 1937.
Three sections: Plans; Postcards; Miscellaneous
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation
Donated to the University Library by AJ Wallis and family 1982 and 2000.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in searchroom.
Description compiled by Jenny Clark, University Archivist.