Parish records of Shipton by Beningbrough

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1849-1981; register of marriages, 1851-2001; register of burials, 1849-2003; register of banns, 1876-1938; register of services, 1896-1995; records concerning benefice income, including sequestration papers and accounts, 1976, and correspondence and papers, 1938-1946, 1956; charity records, including Charles Oxtoby Barker Charity papers, 1974-1988; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1754-1759, 1827-1895, survey of parish for church rate, 1853, and fabric papers, 1961-1988; constables’ accounts, 1754-1759, 1781-1854; records of incumbents, including advowson papers, 1955, pastoral schemes papers, 1976-1981, and parsonage house papers, 1959-1976; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1754-1759, 1781-1854, and rates, 1853-1857, 1859, 1862-1866, 1876-1880; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1903-1947, 1964-1982, correspondence and papers, 1906. 1912, 1919, 1964-1981, deeds, 1766, papers concerning Middleton School Foundation, Shipton Middleton Church of England Primary School and Forest of Galtres Church of England Methodist Primary School, 1904-1908; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1769-1823, and rates, 1854-1861; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1949-1983, accounts, 1950-1962, 1965-1987, correspondence and papers, 1935, 1962-1980, and magazines, 1968-1984.

Administrative / Biographical History

Shipton by Beningbrough was part of the parish of Overton from an early date, although since 1962 the parish has been known as Shipton with Overton. The church, which is dedicated to Holy Evangelists, was built in 1848-1849 by architect George Townsend Andrews at the expense of the Dawney family of Beningbrough Hall. Prior to this date parishioners would have worshipped at Overton, where there is reference to a church from as early as the eleventh century.
A parsonage house was built on an adjoining site in 1849 and in 1892 an oak reredos and choir screen with decorative gates by Temple Moore were installed in the church.
Today the parish of Shipton with Overton is part of the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1978 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982, 1983, 1986, 1987, 1989, 2000 and 2003.

Note

Shipton by Beningbrough was part of the parish of Overton from an early date, although since 1962 the parish has been known as Shipton with Overton. The church, which is dedicated to Holy Evangelists, was built in 1848-1849 by architect George Townsend Andrews at the expense of the Dawney family of Beningbrough Hall. Prior to this date parishioners would have worshipped at Overton, where there is reference to a church from as early as the eleventh century.
A parsonage house was built on an adjoining site in 1849 and in 1892 an oak reredos and choir screen with decorative gates by Temple Moore were installed in the church.
Today the parish of Shipton with Overton is part of the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2003.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1849-1981, marriages, 1851-1981, and banns, 1876-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 779, 1775).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193