Records of Robinson Dunn & Co Ltd, timber importers and sawmills, Glasgow, Scotland

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

  • Sales ledgers 1839-1954
  • Purchase ledgers 1934-1962
  • Journals 1932-1970
  • Purchase journals 1935-1950
  • Purchase day books 1950-1964
  • Cash books 1862-1979
  • Home grown cash books 1960-1974
  • Minutes 1909-1974
  • Letterbooks 1876-1932
  • Wage books 1840-1933
  • Private ledgers 1842-1966
  • Pprivate ledgers and journals 1880-1909
  • Private journals 1839-1871, 1937-1966
  • Calanese Chemical Co ledgers 1956-1964
  • Mill books 1839-1841
  • Stock book 1917-1961
  • Timber ledgers 1840-1875
  • Memorandum book 1839-1940
  • Bankers book 1839-1841
  • Cartage book 1841-1842
  • Nominal ledger 1874-1878
  • Bills received book 1874-1879
  • Sawing and work book 1889-1917
  • Personal ledger 1899-1900
  • Register of members and shares ledger 1909-1928
  • Cheque book 1913
  • Specifications and reports 1919
  • Correspondence reference dispute with P & W McLellan Ltd
  • Newspaper cutting 2001

Administrative / Biographical History

Inchbank Saw Mills was established in 1838  by the brothers, Thomas and James Dunn, and Samuel Wilson in Glasgow, Scotland. The firm assumed the name of Robinson Dunn & Co in 1842  when it was reconstituted by Samuel Wilson, Robertson Robinson (Wilson's son-in-law) and Thomas Dunn. The company operated as a public saw millers and was founded to meet the need for log converting machinery to deal with logs then arriving in considerable bulk from Canada. From 1850 the company also acted as a timber merchants.

Robinson Dunn & Co Ltd was incorporated as a limited liability company in 1909  to acquire the business of Robinson, Dunn & Co and to carry on the business of timber merchants and importers, timber growers and timber preservers and saw millers at Partick, Glasgow, and Temple Saw Mills, Anniesland, Glasgow. Marcus Robinson, previously a partner in the old firm, was chairman of the new company and direction of the company remained in the Robinson family.

In addition to importing softwoods and hardwoods, the Temple Saw Mils handled plywoods and wallboards and timber preserving was carried out with creosote and celcure (water soluble salts) by the vacuum-pressure process. Total timber consumption fell by 20 per cent between 1925 and 1960 but the company continued to handle the same quantities as in good years between the World Wars. The firm had close dealings with the Glasgow shipyards and would often suffer the same set-backs as the yards. In 1933  , the Partick mill closed due to lack of work. The company supplied many of the leading Glasgow shipbuilders with timber as well as other Glasgow companies such as Wylie & Lockhead funeral directors, the brewers W J & R Tennent, as well as boxmakers, engineers, builders and many more.

Following the slumps of the 1930s, the company managed to build itself up again with its works at Port Dundas, Glasgow, near the Forth & Clyde Canal and was soon employing over 250 men. The company also had established timber receiving yards at Bo'ness, Falkirk, Scotland following its acquisition of Thomas & Balfour Ltd , founded in 1870, of the Victoria Saw Mills. The company moved their operations to Bo'ness in the mid-1980s before closing in the 1990s, finally being dissolved in 1999  .

Arrangement

The material is arranged into series as shown in the scope and content note. Within series, items are generally arranged chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Acquisition Information

Deposit : Robinson Dunn & Co Ltd (via Falkirk Museums) : 1980s

Deposit : Central Training Services Ltd : Bo'ness : March 2001

Other Finding Aids

Digital file level list available in searchroom

Manual file level list available at the National Registers of Archives in Edinburgh (NRA(S)294) and London (NRA10844)

Alternative Form Available

No known copies

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist

Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures

Custodial History

Held by the company. Some records transferred to offices of Thomson & Balfour Ltd, Victoria Saw Mills, Bo'ness in 1980s. Left in premesis when the company moved out and discovered by new owners, Central Training Services Ltd in 2002 who transferred the records to Falkirk Museums.

Accruals

None expected

Related Material

No related material

Bibliography

No known publications using this material

Additional Information

This material is original

No alterations made to date