Literary manuscripts

Scope and Content

The group (mainly from the '1978 purchase', but also including material from Groups A, B and C where appropriate) comprises the literary manuscripts of David Jones, with manuscript drafts of In Parenthesis: seinnyessit e gledyf ym penn mameu (1937), The anathemata: fragments of an attempted writing (1952), Epoch and Artist: selected writings by David Jones, edited by Harman Grisewood (1959), The Sleeping Lord and other fragments(1974), The Dying Gaul and other writings edited by Harman Grisewood (1978) and The Roman quarry and other sequences edited by Harman Grisewood and René Hague (1981). There are also typescript drafts, proofs, broadcast scripts, and reviews relating to some of the above publications. -- Some literary works published by David Jones were also included in later publications. For material relating to The Fatigue (1965) and The Tribune's Visitations (1969) see Sleeping Lord (1974). For material relating to The Introduction to the Rime of the Ancient Mariner (1972) and Use and Sign (1975) see The Dying Gaul (1978). For material relating to the Kensington Mass (1975) and The Narrows (1981) see The Roman Quarry (1981).


Arranged into seven groups: In Parenthesis, The Anathemata, Epoch and Artist, The Sleeping Lord, The Dying Gaul, The Roman quarry, and other literary papers.


Preferred citation: L

Related Material

Further papers are 'Wales' Questionnaire completed by David Jones (NLW MS 16556D), Radio adaptations of David Jones' works (NLW MS 22431D) and Studies by Tom Dilworth of David Jones' literature (NLW ex 704).

Additional Information