Wrexham Borough Council, records of

Scope and Content

Although Wrexham, Denbighshire, had grown into a sizable town by the 19th century it was still effectively governed by the parish vestry and the Justices of the Peace; it was made up of two townships, Wrexham Abbott and Wrexham Regis. Concerns over sanitary conditions after 1848 led to a petition in February 1857, calling for the town to be incorporated. Wrexham was granted a Charter in September 1857, allowing the formation of a Borough Council, which then governed under the provisions of the Municipal Corporations Act 1835. The burgesses (numbering 646 in 1857) elected four Aldermen and 12 councillors from whom was chosen the Mayor. The Borough employed several officials including a Town Clerk, Borough Treasurer, Borough Surveyor, Cemetery Superintendent, Medical Officer of Health and Sanitary Inspector. The Borough of Wrexham was abolished in 1974, being absorbed into Wrexham Maelor Borough Council, Clwyd. It is now in Wrexham County Borough. The Borough acted as a Burial Board.

Scope and content: Records of Wrexham Borough Council, 1725-1975, including council minutes, 1895-1972; committee and other minutes, 1866-1972; Wrexham Burial Board and Borough Cemetery records, 1880-1937; statutory registers, 1907-1955; agenda papers, annual accounts and reports, 1858-1898; plans for council undertakings, [c. 1930]-1960; bye-laws, 1881-1937; records relating to sewerage and sewerage schemes, 1862-1909; deeds for properties in Wrexham, 1725-1890; miscellaneous correspondence, 1868-1898; Parliamentary Bills relating to railways, 1889; films of Royal visits and presentations of freedom of borough, 1946-1963; notices of construction of new streets, 1872-1926; Association of Welsh Local Authorities minutes, 1927-1966; year books, 1951-1955; Borough Treasurers' account books and ledgers, [c. 1898]-1975, and housing registers, 1923-1974; Rating Officers' valuation lists, 1894-1974, poor and general district rate books, 1856-1961, and rate cards, 1960-1973; building control plans, 1859-1925; and general ledgers of Wrexham Education Committee, 1921-1946.

Covering dates 1725-1975 (collection accumulated 1857-1975)


Arranged into the following: Commission of the Peace; declaration of oaths of Justices of the Peace; declaration of oaths of councillors; seal register; minutes; notices of motion; rate books; valuation lists; mortgage registers; Wrexham Burial Board and Borough Cemetery; statutory registers; agenda papers, accounts and reports; plans; byelaws; sewerage; title deeds; miscellaneous; miscellaneous minute books; and new streets; Treasurer; Rating Officer; and other authorities; building control plans; and year books.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see http://archives.denbighshire.gov.uk/visit-us/. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.