Twrgwyn Chapel Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

This extensive collection of chapel records consists of items such as a Chapel Register, 1887 - 1905, an incomplete series of Annual Reports, 1886 - 1984 and a Pew Rent Book, 1894 - 1933. The Membership Books date from 1867 - 1885.

The Accounts include an early Treasurer's Account Book, 1854 - 1865; a bundle of collection books, 1898 - 1930; monthly collection books, as early as 1854 and various other accounts and records of income and expenditure. There are even details of the cost of building the first chapel.

There are minute books, 1854 - 1865, which include details of sermons and preachers and collections, with a reference to the opening of the chapel. Numerous other minute books belong to various Twrgwyn committees and officials e.g. Twrgwyn Chapel Choir, 1922-1929.

The Sunday School records include accounts, membership books, and minute books.

Other miscellaneous material are lists of members and membership ticket books, 1955 - 1993; bundles of correspondence and papers regarding the maintenance of the chapel, 1982 - 1995; general correspondence; a note book with lists of preachers, ca 1870 - 1890; 3 membership tickets, 1981; and a programme of plays held at Twrgwyn in 1984.

The collection also contains a Minute Book of the Bangor Free Church Council, 1910-1920; notes made on sermons preached at Twrgwyn and Tabernacl Chapels, Bangor, 1862; Treasurer's Book of the North Wales Calvinistic Methodist Ministers' Fund, 1879 - 1904 and accounts of the Caernarfon and Bangor Cymdeithasfa, 1905 - 1913.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Calvinist Methodist Chapel of Twrgwyn is situated on Holyhead Road, Bangor, North Wales.

A Sunday School was up and running in 1850 in the upper Bangor area, in the workshop of John Parry, builder. However, at a meeting of the Tabernacl church members in Bangor, it was decided that a chapel was needed to house this school and by May 1854, Twrgwyn chapel had been erected, and in the following year a chapel house and school house were also raised. Although Twrgwyn chapel did not initially employ a minister, Rev. John Phillips was the most prominent character behind in the establishment of the chapel. In 1864 it was decided that the chapel should have a gallery, and the plans of Mr Kennedy, architect were accepted in 1865.

The members of the Tabernacl church joined the Twrgwyn congregation in 1968 when the Tabernacl closed. The current minister of Twrgwyn is Rev. Glyn Tudwal Jones.

Arrangement

The records were received at different occasions and have been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts. They have been arranged according to record type and chronologically where possible.

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Acquisition Information

The most recent deposits were made by the chapel secretary, Dr R. Gwyn Davies of Bangor.

Note

Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, October 2001.

Other Finding Aids

An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 215, 1940 - 1974, 5282 - 5289, 5541, 7371, 8241 - 8242, 11516, 13535, 32831, 32887, 38796 - 38823, 38954 - 38963

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Accruals

Accruals have been received but have not been catalogued since more material is expected.

Related Material

For other material of relevance see General Collection Bangor Manuscripts, 5425 - 5426, 5868 and the Records of the Tabernacl Church, Bangor held at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor.