The first deposit covers the period when Ty Cerrig was farmed by Richard Jones (1756-1825), his son John Jones (1792-1842), and by John Jones's widow Elizabeth Jones (1811-95), and comprises family, personal and farm papers, 1767-1898, including vouchers, accounts and letters. The second deposit (Z/DBK/2) reflects in particular the interests of Robert Jones Morris, son of W. E. Morris of Porthmadog, and nephew of Elizabeth Jones of Ty Cerrig, and his contribution to the cultural, religious and political life of the area. The papers mainly comprise letters, vouchers, accounts, wills and inventories, poetry and diaries, 1681-1949. The third deposit (Z/DBK/3) mainly comprises letters and bills, 1832-1938.
The Papers of Ty Cerrig, parish of Llanfihangel-y-traethau
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/DBK
- Dates of Creation1681-1949
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish Welsh
- Physical Description0.17 cubic metres (13 boxes)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Jones family came to live at Ty Cerrig farm in the parish of Llanfihangel-y-traethau, Merionethshire, in May 1794. In 1909 the Jones Morris family of Ty Cerrig moved to their newly built house at Gwrach Ynys.
Arranged chronologically within each deposit.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Stephen Benham for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Gwynedd Archives Service, Catalogue of The Papers of Ty Cerrig, parish of Llanfihangel-y-traethau.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at the Meirionnydd Archives have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.