Tay Whale Fishing Company

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minutes 1845-1920; notes and calculations 1873-1909; annual whaling summaries 1791-1911; press cuttings reporting the success of the Dundee sea and whale fishing fleet 1875-1879; certificates of discharge in favour of George Kinnes 1873, 1905; Some ideas and information on the whale fishing in the Arctic Seas 1885.

Administrative / Biographical History

From 1874 to the First World War the Tay Whale Fishing Company owned a large fleet of whaling ships. Robert Kinnes & Sons Ltd was founded in 1883 by Mr Robert Kinnes as a trading company for the Tay Whale Fishing Co Ltd, of which he was Managing Director. The company's activities included ship-broking and the management of whaling vessels. During the First World War most whalers were either sunk or destroyed. In 1920 the firm Robert Kinnes & Sons was established in Dock Street and from that date the firm of Robert Kinnes & Sons has operated in Dundee as shipping agents and a charter company. In September 1922 a trading ketch, the Easonian, owned by Robert Kinnes & Sons, was lost in the Cumberland Sound. This was reported to have marked the end of the connection between whaling and Dundee.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.

Acquisition Information

The records were deposited by the Department of History in 1978 (AccM/50).

Note

Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, November 2001.

Other Finding Aids

Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.

Alternative Form Available

No known copies.

Conditions Governing Use

Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.

Custodial History

Unknown

Accruals

None expected.

Location of Originals

The original records are in the possession of Mr G B Kinnes of Broughty Ferry.

Geographical Names