Records of the Ystradyfodwg Burial Board, 1871-1896, including: minutes, Llantrisant District and Llanwonno District, 1879-1880; registers of mortgages, Ystradyfodwg District, 1871-1881, Llantrisant and Llanwonno Districts, 1881; abstracts of accounts, all districts, 1880-1896; bank pass books, all districts, 1880-1896; precepts to overseers, all districts, 1880-1896; local taxation returns and correspondence, Llantrisant District, 1882-1896; and notices of vestry meetings, Llantrisant District, 1885-1895. (Note that there are no minutes for the Ystradyfodwg Burial Board).
Ystradyfodwg Burial Board Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Ystradyfodwg Burial Board (Glamorgan) was established about 1871, by the Ystradyfodwg parish vestry, and covered the parish of Ystradyfodwg, Rhondda (Glamorgan). In 1877, the Ystradyfodwg Local Board was set up, covering the parish of Ystradyfodwg, and parts of the parishes of Llantrisant and Llanwonno. Burial boards were therefore set up in December 1879, for the 'Llantrisant District' (that part of the parish of Llantrisant which lay within the Ystradyfodwg Local Board) and the `Llanwonno District' (the part of Llanwonno parish which lay within the Local Board). These two new Boards then joined with the existing Ystradyfodwg Board to form the Ystradyfodwg Joint Burial Board. The meetings of the Llantrisant District and the Llanwonno District, however, were held merely to authorise the precept of money from the rates, and the contribution of the money collected to the Joint Board. The minutes of the Ystradyfodwg Burial Board have not survived among the records in the collection, but it appears that it was at these meetings that all decisions relating to the provision and running of the cemeteries were made. Several cemeteries were provided by the Joint Board, among them Treorchy (opened 1871), Ferndale (between Maerdy and Ferndale, opened [c1875]), and Llethridd Cemetery, Trealaw (between Porth and Trealaw, opened [c1879]). Ystradyfodwg Urban District Council took over all three Burial Boards in March 1896.
The records are arranged by district. Note: two bundles of records arranged under the Ystradyfodwg District contain material relating to all three districts.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Rhondda Urban District Council on 24 November 1949.
Compiled by Hayden Burns for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Glamorgan Record Office, Catalogue of records for the Ystradyfodwg Burial Board; Riden, Philip, Records Sources for Local History, (London, 1987); Hey, David, The Oxford Companion to Local and Family History, (Oxford, 1996); Stephens, W.B., Sources for English Local History, (Cambridge, 1981).
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Compiled by [INSERT NAME] for the Glamorgan Archives, with reference to [NAME ANY PUBLICATIONS USED].
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply.
All records offered have been retained.
The records appear to have been transferred to Ystradyfodwg Urban District Council. In 1897, its name was changed to Rhondda Urban District Council.
Accruals are not expected.