Records of Selside Preparative Meeting of the Society of Friends

Scope and Content

Minutes of Preparative Meeting, 1701-1728 (2 vols.) [H 14, 11]; Minutes of Women's Preparative Meeting, 1700-1713 (1 vol.) [H 13]; Title deeds for Wharfe burial ground, 1714-1777 (3 items) [U 5]

Administrative / Biographical History

Selside Preparative Meeting had a relatively short history, being settled from Settle around 1700 and closed in 1728. There is no evidence of a Meeting House, although a burial ground at Ingman Lodge about a mile from Ribblehead dates back to at least 1679, and indicates that there were Friends living in this area from the late 17th century. They included members of the Eglin, Bentham, Stonay and Potter families. The burial ground at Wharfe, near Austwick, was also used by local Friends, from as early as 1702-03. The Meeting formed part of Settle Monthly Meeting and on its closure, members joined Settle Preparative Meeting.


The records are numbered and arranged according to the system used when they were in Carlton Hill Meeting House

Conditions Governing Access

The conditions of deposit include a clause requiring written prior permission from a Friend Custodian for access to consult current legal documents and any material less than fifty years old

Acquisition Information

The collection of archives of the Society of Friends formerly held at the Friends Meeting House at Carlton Hill, Leeds


In English

Other Finding Aids

Contents listed in Handlist 99, Inventory of the records of Brighouse, Knaresborough, Leeds, and Settle Monthly Meetings of the Society of Friends formerly preserved at the Friends Meeting House, Carlton Hill, Leeds, 2nd edition, 1997

Conditions Governing Use

As with access, the photocopying of current legal documents and any material less than fifty years old requires the permission of a Friend Custodian

Related Material

Related material in Leeds University Library: Records of Settle Monthly Meeting and Settle Preparative Meeting

Additional Information

The records are deposited and remain the property of the Society of Friends