The George Grant Francis Deeds Collection, c.1220-; The Bennett Pedigree Book, c.1606-1700; Bound Volume of Deeds, c.1220-1891; Bound Volumes, c.1200-1876; Fortunate Adventurers in the Mine Adventure, 1604-1707; Antiquarian Notes, n.d.-1937; Correspondence, 1834-1896; Correspondence and papers of George Grant Francis, n.d.-1892; Miscellaneous papers of George Grant Francis, n.d. and -1920
George Grant Francis Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Born 10 January 1814 in Swansea, the eldest son of John Francis and Mary Grant. George Grant married Sarah Richardson at St. Mary's Swansea on 29 October 1840. The ceremony was witnessed by Geo. G. Bird. In 1872 George Grant Francis and his wife Sarah moved to London where they remained until his death. He died on 21 April 1882 in Kensington and was brought back to be buried in the Richardson Mausoleum in Dan-y-graig Cemetery, Swansea. George Grant Francis is known for his role in the establishment of the Royal Institution of South Wales from 1835, and his contribution as its librarian from 1840-1879, and later president in 1875. He made numerous donations to the Royal Institution of South Wales, which formed the basis of its valuable collections. Francis was also involved in the re-founding of the Swansea Grammar School and played a part in the creation of the Volunteer Movement. He took command of the 1st (Swansea) Corps, Glamorgan Artillery Volunteers. He was a local councillor and was elected Mayor of Swansea in 1853-1854. Francis discovered the original contract (1303) of Edward, prince of Wales and Isabella of France. F.S.A., 1845, edited Swansea charters, 1849. His major interest throughout his life was that of anything antiquarian. He wrote letters, articles, pamphlets, books, collected items, investigated sites, exhibited articles, became a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries, restored Oystermouth Castle and preserved the Corporation records.
Part of this collection was originally catalogued at University College Library, Swansea, where an interpretation of the original order was made. This catalogue lists the items chronologically under the headings stated in Scope and content.
The records were originally held at The Royal Institution of South Wales, Swansea. From 1966 onwards the records were moved to the library in the University College, Swansea in consignments. They were transferred to West Glamorgan Archive Service in the Spring of 2004 as part of The Royal Institution of South Wales Collection.
Compiled by Katie Millien for the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. The catalogue can be accessed online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.