There has probably been a crossing here since Roman times. The bridge bears the date 1636 and it believed to have been built by Sir Richard Wynn and designed by Inigo Jones.
The third arch was rebuilt in 1703. In 1703 it is recorded that in 1636 the bridge was rebuilt but the earlier bridge was probably timber. Today, the narrowness of the bridge causes a great deal of congestion. The bridge is known by a number of names: Pont y Berl, Pont Fawr, Pont y Brenin and Pont Bara Llaeth.