The present house was almost entirely rebuilt in 1886 but contains some material from the original house built in 1582 by Captain Edward Williams (Sheriff of Caernarfonshire, 1570). A mid-nineteenth century drawing of the old house, preserved at the house, shows that the present building follows its plan and exterior fairly closely. It is probable that some parts of the old walls were incorporated in the present house since the moulded ceiling does not appear to have been disturbed. Reset in the outer face of the modern porch is a stone panel with a shield bearing a stag's head flanked by the inititials E.W. and G.W. (Edward and Grace Williams). Above this is the date 1582.
Original Index No. M0077.