From left to right: Bevan Ironmongers; John Jones, Butchers ('Sole Manufacturer of the Royal Sandringham Sausage') and Roberts Fishmongers.
John Jones started his business in the Market Hall (1865) where The Palladium now stands. He also had shops in Queen's Road and Albert Street and owned 'The Barn' in Brook Street. 'The Barn' was used as a stables for the business. In 1987 it was a furniture shop. John Jones lived at Dinerth Hall, Rhos on Sea, the property being sold c. 1939. He was famous for his Welsh Pony Stud and when he died, his coffin was taken to the Cemetery by his favourite pony, 'Rightaway'. He was the last Chairman of the Commissioners and the first Chairman of the U.D.C. (1894). The business was sold in 1953 or 1954 to the London Central Meat Company (?Northampton).
Original Index No. D0499.